After three years of hard work, learning, essays and strife, the Journalism Class of 2009 have finally reached the end of the line and graduated from Liverpool John Moores University.


In a ceremony at the Anglican Cathedral on July 21st, the 47 (now former) students donned traditional caps and gowns and joined together with family, friends and lecturers to celebrate the ultimate goal of their time at university... the passage from being graduands to gradautes.


The big question on everybody’s lips will undoubtedly be “what now?” but graduation day should be a day of celebration and reflection. Professor Chris Frost, the Head of Journalism, believes that the graduates need to maintain a level of dedicated effort if they wish for career success. He said: “The only words of wisdom I have for the students are to carry on working as hard as you have and it will pay dividends.  Hard work is what matters.


“Graduation is a culmination of the students' hard work and an

opportunity for us to celebrate their achievements with their

families,” he added. “It’s great to see them all in their gowns, having

a great time, going out with their families knowing that they’ve worked

really hard.”


The ceremony began with a fanfare signalling the beginning of the

procession of academic staff and dignitaries. LJMU Vice Chancellor

Michael Brown then gave a speech declaring the congregation open,

before the students were then presented with their awards.


Later in the ceremony, actress Rita Tushingham was presented with an honorary degree for her outstanding and sustained contributions to the performing arts. Hailing from Liverpool, Tushingham is perhaps best known for her starring role in the 1961 film ‘A Taste of Honey’, a performance which won her a Golden Globe, Best Actress at Cannes and a British Academy Award.


Four Journalism students were also presented with extra awards on the day. Laura Day received the Neil Warburton Prize for achieving the best grade at graduation, while Lara Richards won the Margaret Fairclough Prize for skills shown in sub-editing. Jack Davies and Caroline Odogwu were presented with silver stars for their contribution to the (World of Work) WoW Factor initiative pioneered by the university.


Echoing the views of many of her peers, Laura Day said: "It feels great to graduate. It’s been a good three years and everyone has worked really hard and I’m really chuffed that I managed to get a first.  It is the end of an era but it’s a positive feeling and I think everyone should just be happy and proud of themselves on a really memorable day."


JMU Journalism News would like to take this opportunity to congratulate all Journalism graduates and wish them the very best for their future careers.


The Class of 2009: Journalism and International Journalism graduates:

Daad Al-Madhagi, Natasha Aujla, Adam Belton, Pamela Bongkiyung, Thomas Briffitt, Daniel Burke, Conor Callanan, Danielle Carter, Helen Coates, Clarke Crilly, Laura Davies, Richard ‘Jack’ Davies, Laura Day, Marcel Deer, Mark Easton, Nick Egan, Peter Fitzpatrick, Alex Fontaine, Andrew Garner, Phil Hayes, Katie Heaton, Ying Jia, Ellen Kelly, Stephen Kelly, Kate Lightfoot, Dave Lowther, Katy MacDonald, Damien Mc Laren, Luke McGovern, Kirsty McHale, Caroline Odogwu, Charlotte Penketh, Oliver Pfeiffer, Vishal Rana, Emma Renshaw, Lara Richards, Jasvinder Sahota, Adam Savage, Jake Schembri, Scarlett May Smith, Nicholas Spyrou, Michael Storey, Stefanie Underhill, Alison Whearty, Michelle Willis, Claire Wilson, Ning Xu.  





Graduation time for Journalism students

By Dan Burke, Website Editor

Related stories

Related websites

A-JMU-newsbanner Homepage TV & Radio Special coverage LSS WoW Factor Picture galleries Liverpool Life News & Features Website team Top 10 Top 10 Blogs Sport Entertainment Shorthand Sue Alumni Meet the staff International & Travel Coursework Fashion graduation_group_small

Pic: Conor Callanan, Alison Whearty, Damien Mc Laren, Michael Storey & Stefanie Underhill celebrate

graduation_interview1 NEW_jmutv-watermark